Catalog

Search our Catalog

"Freezing" a hold

What is the purpose of the FREEZE check box on the right hand side of the screen?

Comments

beesleya
Wed, 2015-08-12 10:21

Thank you for your excellent question!

The purpose of the FREEZE check box is to temporarily suspend your hold while keeping your place in line. Say, for instance, that you were second in line for a book but were going to be away on a vacation. You might choose to "freeze" your hold while you are away so that you don't have to worry about your hold coming in and going out again before you can come in to pick it up. You can then "unfreeze" your hold when you come back from vacation, and you'll have kept your place in line.

If you want to use this feature, here's how:
1) Check the FREEZE check box on the right hand side of each item you would like to freeze
2) Click the "Update all" button at the bottom of the screen.

And that's it! Unfreezing holds works the same way, but you are simply unchecking the box instead of checking it.

Thank you for your question, and please do let me know if you need any more help!