Catalog

Search our Catalog

Romance

Road Trip Reads for Teens

Amy & Roger's epic detour by Morgan Matson

Paper towns by John Green

An abundance of Katherines by John Green

13 little blue envelopes by Maureen Johnson

Going bovine by Libba Bray

Just one wish by Janette Rallison

Reunited by Hilary Weisman Graham

Love & Romance for Teens

The truth about forever by Sarah Dessen

Hush, hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Going too far by Jennifer Echols

When it happens by Susane Colasanti

Anna and the French kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Perfect you by Elizabeth Scott

Romance eBooks

Books Made Into Movies

The Da Vinci code: a novel by Dan Brown

The Devil wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

Seabiscuit: an American legend by Laura Hillenbrand

Nights in Rodanthe by Nicholas Sparks

The notebook by Nicholas Sparks

The pursuit of happyness by Chris Gardner with Quincy Troupe

The help by Kathryn Stockett

Romance for Adults

The 100 best romance novels: from Pride and Prejudice to Twilight, books to fall in love—and lust—with by Jennifer Lawler and the editors of Crimson Romance

Fifty shades of grey by E.L. James

Beautiful disaster: a novel by Jamie McGuire

Pride and prejudice by Jane Austen ; edited with notes by Vivien Jones

The notebook by Nicholas Sparks

Bared to you by Sylvia Day

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë ; edited with an introduction and notes by Stevie Davies

May We Suggest: Romantic Suspense

If you like suspense and mystery with a love story and the ease of reading large print..

Night diver [large print] by Elizabeth Lowell

Flashpoint [large print] by Suzanne Brockmann

Riptide [large print] by Catherine Coulter

Hunted [large print] by Karen Robards

Stolen [large print] by Allison Brennan

Running scared [large print] by Lisa Jackson

Dead by midnight [large print] by Beverly Barton

Valentine's Day

Originally a feast day of two Christian martyrs named Valentine, Valentine's Day has changed over time into a more general celebration of love in which cards, flowers and chocolates are often exchanged. If the day puts you in the mood for love, check out this collection. It highlights love letters, famous couples and classic novels. But there's also plenty of love in the movies. For these we've listed some favorite Classic Romantic Comedies, Offbeat Romances and Romantic Dramas. Last but not least, there is a selection of Romantic Music for your listening pleasure.

Books: Love Letters

The 50 Greatest Love Letters of All Time edited by David H. Lowenherz: A collector of letters chooses his favorites.

Beloved Prophet by Kahlil Gibran: The correspondence of the poet Kahlil Gibran and Mary Haskell.

Dear Scott, dearest Zelda: the love letters of F. Scott Fitzgerald and Zelda Fitzgerald edited by Jackson R. Bryer and Cathy W. Barks: This collection of letters by the Fitzgeralds to each other covers their entire relationship, from their courtship in 1918 to Scott's death in 1940.

What We're Reading: October 2014

Lately, I've been reading non-fiction. A well-written narrative not only informs, it entertains.  Did you know Canton Public Library has a new book discussion group?  The Nonfiction Book Group will meet the third Saturday of the month.  Their first meeting is November 15 at 10:00 AM.

The First World War in 100 objects by John Hughes-Wilson ; IWM consultant, Nigel Steel ; editor, Mark Hawkins-Dady

The history of rock 'n' roll in ten songs by Greil Marcus

Music in the shadows: noir musical films by Sheri Chinen Biesen

Seven elements that changed the world: an adventure of ingenuity and discovery by John Browne

In the kingdom of ice: the grand and terrible polar voyage of the USS Jeannette by Hampton Sides

Canton Seniors Book Group: October 23, 2014

Canton Seniors Book Groups meets Thursday, October 23 from 2:00-3:00PM in Canton Public Library's Group Study Room A.  We will be discussing JoJo Moyes' ME BEFORE YOU.  Request a copy at the Information Services Desk.

ME BEFORE YOU by JoJo Moyes.  Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn't have less in common, Louisa Clark a very ordinary girl and former Master of the Universe, Will Trevor.  It's a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, 'What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?' .

Read-alikes for THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

The movie rights have been purchased for M. L. Stedman's THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS.  wonderful book about a lighthouse keeper and his wife. Tom is a WW I veteran, one of the 'lucky ones', he has lost a limb nor his mind but he deliberately seeks the solitude of an island off Australia.  He meets and marries, Isabel. But times on the island are tough for Isabel as she suffers multiple miscarriages and a stillbirth in just four years time. When a boat with a dead man and a young baby washes ashore, Isabel convinces Tom to let her keep the baby as their own, but the consequences to her actions may be dire.  Similar books are:

The sandcastle girls: a novel by Chris Bohjalian

The orchardist: a novel by Amanda Coplin

The secret keeper: a novel by Kate Morton

The house I loved by Tatiana de Rosnay

Sink Your Teeth In: Fiction Featuring WereBeasts

Be it a furry romance, or a spine-tingling horror novel, these part-human, part-beast creatures have taken hold of our literary imaginations!

Red moon: a novel by Benjamin Percy

Dead until dark by Charlaine Harris

Moon called by Patricia Briggs

Darkness devours by Keri Arthur

Beauty and the werewolf by Mercedes Lackey

Bullet by Laurell K. Hamilton

Bound to shadows by Keri Arthur

Foodie Romances

Currant Creek Valley by RaeAnne Thayne

Hot under pressure by Louisa Edwards

A Madaris bride for Christmas by New York Times bestselling author Brenda Jackson

You're the one by Robin Kaye

Burning down the spouse by Dakota Cassidy

Harvest moon by Robyn Carr

Love Stories: Great Romantic Films

Penelope [videodisc] by Summit Entertainment and Stone Village Pictures present a Type A Films ; Tatira Active Film production in association with Grosvenor Park Productions

Miss Pettigrew lives for a day [videodisc] by Keylight Entertainment Group ; Kudos Productions Ltd.

I could never be your woman [videodisc] by I Could Never Ltd. ; Bauer Martinez Studios ; Scott Rudin Productions

Four weddings and a funeral [videodisc] by Polygram Filmed Entertainment and Channel Four Films [present] ; a Working Title production

The proposal [videodisc] by Touchstone Pictures presents a Mandeville Films production, an Anne Fletcher film

50 first dates [videodisc] by Columbia Pictures presents a Happy Madison/Anonymous Content and Flower Films production, a film by Peter Segal

Romantic Comedies

Breakfast at Tiffany's [videodisc] by Paramount Pictures presents a Jurow-Shepherd production


Bridget Jones [videodisc]: the edge of reason by Universal Pictures and Studio Canal and Miramax Films present a Working Title production


Amélie [videodisc] by Claudie Ossard & UGC présentent une coproduction Victoires Productions, Tapioca Films-France 3 Cinéma, MMC Independent GmbH avec la collaboration de la Sofica Sofinergie 5 et le soutien de la Filmstiftung avec la participation de Canal+, un film de Jean-Pierre Jeunet


You've got mail [videodisc] by Warner Bros. presents a Lauren Shuler Donner production


The Philadelphia story [videodisc] by produced by Joseph L. Mankiewicz ; directed by George Cukor ; screenplay by Donald Ogden Stewart

Look What's In Large Print: June 2014

This month's focus is on historical novels.  A well-written historical fiction offers a good story, a strong sense of place, and provides readers an understanding of another time.