Catalog

Search our Catalog

Comedy

Murder Will Out: June 2015

Looking for a good mystery and a way to earn the Connect Your Summer 2015 Super Bookworm: My Mitten badge?  Check out this selection of mysteries set in Michigan.

Detroit is our beat: tales of the four horsemen by Loren D. Estleman

Mountains of the misbegotten by Joseph Heywood

The chocolate clown corpse by JoAnna Carl

Let it burn by Steve Hamilton

Love in a nutshell by Janet Evanovich & Dorien Kelly

South of Hell by P.J. Parrish

Color of justice: a novel of suspense by Gary Hardwick

Savvy Seniors: June 2015

Reading time for kids can be fun when it's with an older adult. Hit the library with your grandchild, or a "grand friend," to track down some classics.

Round trip by Ann Jonas

Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren ; translated from the Swedish by Florence Lamborn ; illustrated by Louis S. Glanzman

Frog and Toad storybook treasury by Arnold Lobel

Books Made Into Movies

The Da Vinci code: a novel by Dan Brown

The Devil wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

Seabiscuit: an American legend by Laura Hillenbrand

Nights in Rodanthe by Nicholas Sparks

The notebook by Nicholas Sparks

The pursuit of happyness by Chris Gardner with Quincy Troupe

The help by Kathryn Stockett

Discover Shakespeare

As you like it by William Shakespeare ; edited by Barbara A. Mowat and Paul Werstine

Cymbeline by William Shakespeare; edited by Robert B. Heilman

Hamlet by edited and rendered into modern English by Alan Durband

Henry VI, part one ; Henry VI, part two ; Henry VI, part three by William Shakespeare

Julius Caesar by William Shakespeare

King Henry VIII by William Shakespeare ; edited by R.A. Foakes

Road Trip Reads for Teens

Amy & Roger's epic detour by Morgan Matson

Paper towns by John Green

An abundance of Katherines by John Green

13 little blue envelopes by Maureen Johnson

Going bovine by Libba Bray

Just one wish by Janette Rallison

Reunited by Hilary Weisman Graham

Audie Award-Winning Audiobooks

Artists on Film

The best offer [videodisc] by produced by Isabella Cocuzza, Arturo Paglia ; written & directed by Giuseppe Tornatore

My mother's smile [videodisc] by New Yorker Films presents a film with Filmalbatros and Rai Cinema

Lust for life [videodisc] by Metro Goldwyn Mayer

The mill & the cross [videodisc] by Kino Lorber presents ; an Angelus Silesius production ; written by Michael Francis Gibson & Lech Majewski ; directed and produced by Lech Majewski

Frida [videodisc] by Miramax Films presents in association with Margaret Rose Perenchio a Ventanarose production in association with Lions Gate Films, a film by Julie Taymor

Fiction for Cat Lovers

Whittington by Alan Armstrong ; illustrated by S.D. Schindler

A summer spell by Sue Bentley ; illustrated by Angela Swan

My unwilling witch goes to ballet school by Hiawyn Oram, Sarah Warburton

Wild things by written & illustrated by Clay Carmichael

Beginning Chapter Book Series to Love

These captivating series feature beloved and unforgettable characters, and are perfect for readers who are transitioning from easy readers to chapter books.

Cam Jansen: the mystery of the U.F.O. by David A. Adler ; illustrated by Susanna Natti

Clementine by Sara Pennypacker ; with illustrations by Marla Frazee

Mercy Watson to the rescue by Kate DiCamillo ; illustrated by Chris van Dusen

Junie B. Jones and the stupid smelly bus by Barbara Park ; illustrated by Denise Brunkus

Bad Kitty gets a bath by Nick Bruel

Horrid Henry by Francesca Simon ; illustrated by Tony Ross

LOL Audiobooks to check out/download

Good omens [sound recording] by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (the world's only completely accurate book of prophecies, written in 1655, before she exploded), the world will end on a Saturday. .


A walk in the woods [sound recording]: [rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail] by Bill Bryson

 Bill Bryson is surely the most entertaing guide you'll find to the Appalachian Trail. He introduces us to the history and ecology of the trail and to some of the other hardy (or just foolhardy) folks he meets along the way-and a couple of bears. Already a classic, "A Walk in the Woods " will make you long for the great outdoors (or at least a comfortable chair to sit and read in).


Confessions of a shopaholic [sound recording] by Sophie Kinsella

Becky Bloomwood is bored to death writing for Successful Saving. So, with a handsome credit line from her bank, she liberates herself the best way she knows how-- by shopping! Think of it as an investment, she tells herself. But, soon she is buried in bank notices and cursed VISA bills

Remembering Robin Williams

Beloved actor and comedian Robin Williams passed away on August 11th at the age of 63. The Canton Public Library carries a wide selection of films starring Mr. Williams including Aladdin, Good Morning Vietnam, Mrs. Doubtfire and The World According to Garp.  Feel free to laugh or cry with the work of this American legend. Follow the link for a list of his works in our collection.

Romantic Comedies

Breakfast at Tiffany's [videodisc] by Paramount Pictures presents a Jurow-Shepherd production


Bridget Jones [videodisc]: the edge of reason by Universal Pictures and Studio Canal and Miramax Films present a Working Title production


Amélie [videodisc] by Claudie Ossard & UGC présentent une coproduction Victoires Productions, Tapioca Films-France 3 Cinéma, MMC Independent GmbH avec la collaboration de la Sofica Sofinergie 5 et le soutien de la Filmstiftung avec la participation de Canal+, un film de Jean-Pierre Jeunet


You've got mail [videodisc] by Warner Bros. presents a Lauren Shuler Donner production


The Philadelphia story [videodisc] by produced by Joseph L. Mankiewicz ; directed by George Cukor ; screenplay by Donald Ogden Stewart

Murder Will Out: November 2013

If you enjoy history with your mystery or like Edward Marston's or Patricia McIntosh's mysteries, try Priscilla Royal. Fans of Joan Hess or Mary Logue will want to read Annelise Ryan's Mattie Winston series. Christopher Spielberg's The Russian Donation won Germany's Friedrich Glauser prize for best debut crime novel. Foodies should try L. J. Washburn's Fresh Baked Mystery series and for something completely different Betty Webb's features Teddy Gunter, Zookeeper at Gunn Zoo.

The sanctity of hate: a medieval mystery by Priscilla Royal

Lucky stiff by Annelise Ryan

The Russian donation by Christoph Spielberg ; translated by Gerald Chapple

Wedding cake killer: a fresh-baked mystery by Livia J. Washburn

The llama of death: a Gunn Zoo mystery by Betty Webb

If you like P. G. Wodehouse, try...

Mapp and Lucia by E.F. Benson ; with a new introduction by Stephen Pile

Merry Hall by Beverley Nichols ; with a foreword by Ann Lovejoy

The pursuit of love ; &, Love in a cold climate: two novels by Nancy Mitford ; foreword by Jessica Mitford

Diary of a provincial lady by E.M. Delafield ; with a preface by Mary Borden ; with illustrations by Arthur Watts

Jeeves and the Wedding Bells by Faulks, Sebastian

Fiction books that made us laugh

Below are the results of a survey of CPL staff on the books that made them laugh. You might have to put some on hold, they are very popular!



"Anything by Erma Bombeck"
Wooster and Jeeves books by P. G. Wodehouse

Forrest Gump: a novel by Winston Groom

One for the money by Janet Evanovich and the rest of the Stephanie Plum series

The color of magic by Terry Pratchett

What We're Reading November 2012

Thanksgiving Day kicks off a month of celebrations. May we suggest a movie, tips from Martha Stewart on Thanksgiving prepartions, a history, music to sooth, and a story about family.

Planes, trains and automobiles [videodisc] by Paramount Pictures

Martha's classic Thanksgiving [videodisc] by [presented by] Marth Stewart Living Omnimedia

Mayflower: a story of courage, community, and war by Nathaniel Philbrick

Thanksgiving [sound recording]: a Windham Hill collection

Thanksgiving night: a novel by Richard Bausch

Great Book Adaptations on Turner Classic Movies

Read the book? See the movie. Throughout the month of November, Turner Classic Movies is featuring film adaptations of well-known novels. The films run 24 hours on Mondays and Wednesdays. A variety of themes are featured including Southern Novels, Adventure, American Literature, Westerns, Science Fiction and more. Stories for Children and Young Adults will be shown all day on Thanksgiving Day.